Association for Constraint Programming General Assembly 2010

Barry O'Sullivan, President

Association for Constraint Programming

b.osullivan@4c.ucc.ie

9th September 2010

Agenda

Officers' Reports

- Welcome Barry O'Sullivan
- ACP Distinguished Service Award
- President's Report Barry O'Sullivan
- Secretary's Report on the ACP Election 2010 Jimmy Lee
- Treasurer's Report Thomas Schiex
- Open discussion

President's Report

- The Executive Committee 2010
- 2 CP Conferences 2010–2012
- 3 ACP Web-sites are being Revamped
- 4 ACP Summer School
- 5 Standardisation Working Group
- 6 ACP Awards
- 7 Announcements from the Constraints Journal

The ACP Executive Committee in 2010

All Elected Members

- John Hooker
- Pedro Meseguer
- Barry O'Sullivan
- Karen Petrie
- Thomas Schiex
- Peter Stuckey
- Roland Yap

Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2007-2010 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2009-2010 Elected 2007-2010 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2009-2010

Jimmy Lee acted as Secretary – non-voting on the EC.

The ACP Executive Committee in 2010

Members whose terms run beyond the end of 2010

- John Hooker
- Pedro Meseguer
- Barry O'Sullivan
- Karen Petrie
- Thomas Schiex
- Peter Stuckey
- Roland Yap

Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2007-2010 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2009-2010 Elected 2007-2010 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2009-2010

CP 2010 - St. Andrews, Scotland

Chairs of the Conference

- Programme Chair: Dave Cohen
- Conference Chair: Karen Petrie

Local Organising Committee

- Peter Jeavons (Oxford),
- Chris Jefferson (St. Andrews),
- Alan Frisch (York),
- Ian Gent (St. Andrews),
- Angela Miguel (St. Andrews),
- Ian Miguel (St. Andrews),
- Patrick Prosser (Glasgow)
- Barbara Smith (Leeds).

CP Conferences in 2011 and 2012

CP 2011 - Perugia, Italy

- Programme Chair: Jimmy Lee
- Conference Chair: Stefano Bistarelli

CP 2012 - Quebec City, Canada

- Programme Chair: TBD
- Conference Chairs: Gilles Pesant and Claude-Guy Quimper
- Additional Local Chair: Louis Martin Rouseau

CP 2013

Call for Bids will be circulated shortly.

ACP Web-sites

New Site

New site coming online with fully up-to-date information and an online member account system.

```
http://4c110.ucc.ie/aiai/acp-demo/
```

ACP Web-site

http://www.4c.ucc.ie/acp

http://www.a4cp.org

CP Online

http://www.4c.ucc.ie/cponline

http://www.cponline.org

ACP Summer School on Constraint Programming

2010 Summer School

- 3-7 May, Aussois, France
- Organized by Y. Deville and C. Solnon
- Program included both introductory courses on the grounds of CP, with practicals with the Comet programming language, and advanced courses on challenging research areas of CP.
- The speakers were Yves Deville, Pierre Flener, Christophe Lecoutre, Laurent Michel, Gilles Pesant, Jean-Charles Régin, Thomas Schiex, Christine Solnon, and Pascal Van Hentenryck.

• 51 participants

2011 Summer School

We know of one excellent bid, but others will be welcome in response to the Call for Bids.

Barry O'Sullivan, President (ACP)

Establishment of a CP Standardisation Working Group

- Autumn of 2008, Jacob Feldman (4C) and Narendra Jussien (Ecole des Mines, Nantes) proposed to establish a Standardization Work Group supported by the ACP.
- Inclusive participation
- http://www.cpstandards.org
- On March 25, 2010 Java Community Process (JCP) published the Early Draft Review of the JSR-331 "Constraint Programming API"
- Discussion Forum
- Focus on working towards standards to make CP advances available to the business community.
- Please attend tomorrows discussion panel on this subject.
- JSR 331 has been nominated for most innovative JSR of the year for JCP Program Awards.

ACP Distinguished Service Award 2010

This year's recipient

Francesca Rossi, University of Padova.

Nominated by: Christian Bessiere.

Award Committee

Dave Cohen, Ian Gent, Jimmy Lee, Barry O'Sullivan (Chair), and Peter Stuckey.

ACP Doctoral Research Award 2010

This year's recipient – presentation at 10am Guido Tack, "Constraint propagation: Models, techniques, implementation"

Nominated by: Christian Schulte.

Award Committee

Brahim Hnich, John Hooker (Chair), Mark Wallace.

ACP Research Excellence Award 2011

A Call for Nominations will be circulated for the 2011 award.

Announcements from the Constraints Journal

Surveys Editor, Thomas Schiex, INRA Toulouse, France

Survey papers provide a full-length, state-of-the-art review on a well-defined topic. References to other media, such as stable web references, executable code or sources, benchmarks, videos, and animations, are welcome. Proposals for survey articles may cover theoretical or application-oriented topics that have witnessed significant developments and have not been recently surveyed.

Announcements from the Constraints Journal

Applications Editor, Helmut Simonis, 4C, Ireland

Application papers describe real-life applications of Constraint Programming in areas such as industry, education, health, and government. Papers discussing real-life oriented benchmark problems, especially comparing constraint formulations with other solution techniques, will also be considered. Submissions will be critically refereed considering novelty, impact and awareness of related work.

Announcements from the Constraints Journal

Letters Editor, Chris Beck, University of Toronto, Canada

Letters are welcome on any topic relevant to the journal scope which present novel, high-quality research that has not appeared and is not under review elsewhere, including in a conference. Letters provide a forum for considering contributions, such as important technical results, experimental results providing a relevant evaluation of a previously proposed algorithm (by the author of the Letter or others), or improvements and corrections of results already in the literature.

Secretary's Report – 2010 ACP EC Election

- Dictated by the new By-laws passed at CP 2007
- Election Committee appointed by the EC and chaired by the Secretary
 - Jimmy Lee (Chair)
 - John Hooker
 - Barry O'Sullivan
 - Peter Stuckey
- The Election Committee: Nominate at least one person for every vacancy; Receive nominations from the community; Run the election.

• Retiring EC members:

- Karen Petrie and Roland Yap (elected to 2-year term in 2008)
- Pedro Meseguer and Thomas Schiex (elected to 3-year term in 2007)
- 4 vacancies of 4-year term

10 Nominations

- Pedro Barahona
- Stefano Bistarelli
- Yves Deville
- Peter Jeavons
- Karen Petrie
- Thomas Schiex
- Paul Shaw
- Helmut Simonis
- Christine Solnon
- Roland Yap

The Election

Details

- Voting period: August 1 to 31, 2010
- Number of votes: 128
- Newly elected EC members
 - Yves Deville
 - Thomas Schiex
 - Helmut Simonis
 - Roland Yap

The 2011 ACP EC

All elected members

- Yves Deville
- John Hooker
- Barry O'Sullivan
- Thomas Schiex
- Helmut Simonis
- Peter Stuckey
- Roland Yap

Elected 2011-2014 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2011-2014 Elected 2011-2014 Elected 2009-2012 Elected 2011-2014

Association for Constraint Programming General Assembly 2010

Barry O'Sullivan, President

Association for Constraint Programming

b.osullivan@4c.ucc.ie

9th September 2010